Customer Login

Lost password?

View your shopping cart



By Pat Boran

Shine On

Edited by Pat Boran Foreword by Miriam O’Callaghan; a who’s who of contemporary Irish writing in support of those affected by mental ill health. Contributors include: Colm Tóibín, Claire Keegan, Joseph O’Connor, Paula Meehan, John Montague, Alex Barclay, Colum McCann, Sinéad Morrissey, Kevin Barry, Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill, Brendan Kennelly and Paul Durcan, and many  more.


Shine On is a major anthology of prose and poetry in support of those affected by mental ill health. Edited and introduced by Pat Boran, and with a Foreword by Miriam O’Callaghan, this wide-ranging volume is a fascinating overview of Irish writing now, as well as a heartfelt and generous response to the challenges faced by so many members of our society, not least in the present dark and difficult times.

“A monumental and enlightening collection of writers coming together for a worthy cause” — Books Ireland


Alex Barclay * Leland Bardwell * Kevin Barry * Sara Berkeley * Dermot Bolger * Pat Boran * Colm Breathnach * Paddy Bushe * Philip Casey * Harry Clifton *  Michael Coady * Evelyn Conlon * Susan Connolly * Enda Coyle-Green * Tony Curtis * Pádraig J Daly * Philip Davison * Gerald Dawe * John F Deane * Patrick Deeley * Greg Delanty * Theo Dorgan * Paul Durcan * Christine Dwyer Hickey * Peter Fallon * Gerard Fanning * Gabriel Fitzmaurice * Miriam Gamble * Anthony Glavin * Eamon Grennan * Vona Groarke * Kerry Hardie * James Harpur * Jack Harte * Dermot Healy * Michael D Higgins * Rita Ann Higgins * Fred Johnston * Claire Keegan * Brendan Kennelly * Thomas Kinsella * Anatoly Kudryavitsky * Jessie Lendennie * Jinx Lennon * Dave Lordan * Aifric MacAodha * Catherine Phil MacCarthy * John MacKenna * Tom Mathews * Joan McBreen * Colum McCann * Molly McCloskey * Mike McCormack * Hugh McFadden * Iggy McGovern *  Máighread Médbh * Paula Meehan * Lia Mills * Judith Mok * John Montague * Sinéad Morrissey * Gerry Murphy * Nuala Ní Chonchúir * Eiléan Ní Chuilleanáin * Nuala Ní Dhomhnaill * Jean O’Brien * Joseph O’Connor * Mary O’Donoghue * John O’Donnell * Mary O’Donnell * Dennis O’Driscoll * Michael O’Loughlin * Nessa O’Mahony * Mary O’Malley * Liam Ó Muirthile * Micheal O’Siadhail * Leanne O’Sullivan * Maeve O’Sullivan * Paul Perry * Billy Ramsell * Maurice Riordan * Mark Roper * Gabriel Rosenstock * Peter Sheridan * Gerard Smyth * Peter Sirr * Richard Tillinghast * Colm Tóibín * Eamonn Wall * Grace Wells * David Wheatley * Macdara Woods * Vincent Woods * Enda Wyley

ISBN 978 1 906614 46 1 Paperback

ISBN 978 1 906614 47 8 Hardback

140 x 21 mm, 304 pp
October 2011

Additional information

Weight .4 kg
Dimensions 216 x 140 mm


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Product Detail

  • ISBN: :
  • Size: :
  • Pages: :
  • Published: :

About The Author


PAT BORAN was born in Portlaoise, Ireland in 1963 and currently lives in Dublin where he works as an editor and broadcaster. He has held a number of posts as Writer-in-Residence with libraries and third level institutions and has published five full-length collections of poetry as well as a New and Selected volume. His New and Selected Poems, with an introduction by the late Dennis O'Driscoll, was published in 2005 and reissued in 2007. Editions have appeared in Italian, Hungarian and Macedonian. Fiction publications include short story collection, Strange Bedfellows (1991) and his children's book, All the Way from China (1999), a finalist for the Bisto Book of the Year Award. Non-fiction includes the popular writers' handbook The Portable Creative Writing Workshop (revised and updated in 2013) and A Short History of Dublin (2000). His warmly received memoir The Invisible Prison: Scenes from an Irish Childhood, was published in December 2009 and reprinted a month later. A former editor of Poetry Ireland Review and presenter of The Poetry Programme and The Enchanted Way on RTÉ Radio 1, he has edited numerous anthologies, among them Wingspan: A Dedalus Sampler (2006), Flowing, Still: Irish Poets on Irish Poetry (2009), The Bee-Loud Glade (2009), Shine On, poetry and prose in support of those affected by mental ill health and, with Gerard Smyth, If Ever You Go: A Map of Dublin in Poetry and Song, the 2014 Dublin: Once City, One Book choice. A member of Aosdána, he received the Lawrence O'Shaughnessy Poetry Award in the US in 2008. (see also REVIEW EXCERPTS "A writer of great tenderness and lyricism" — Agenda (UK) "A kind of lateral visionary; his poems are never only about what they seem to be about" — Bernard O'Donoghue, The Irish Times

%d bloggers like this: