Customer Login

Lost password?

View your shopping cart


By Macdara Woods

Collected Poems (Woods)

Comprehensive overview of the work of Macdara Woods, one of the senior figures and most distinctive voices in contemporary Irish poetry.


Comprehensive overview of the work of Macdara Woods, one of the senior figures and most distinctive voices in contemporary Irish poetry.

Macdara Woods was one of the best-known names in contemporary Irish poetry, with his work translated into more than a dozen languages. In his 70th year, Dedalus issued Collected Poems, a generous overview of his many collections from his 1970 debut to 2011’s The Cotard Dimension, alongside a number of new poems and poems previously uncollected. Politically aware, lyrical and formally adventurous, Woods’ poems expand the range of contemporary Irish poetry.

“Collected Poems celebrates Woods’s profound commitment to his independent art. In it, the tumblers of his locks fall into place.”
— Mary Shine Thompson, The Irish Times

ISBN 978 1 906614 645 Paperback
ISBN 978 1 906614 65 2 Hardback
140 x 216 mm, 426 pp
October 2012

Additional information

Dimensions216 x 140 mm


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Product Detail

  • ISBN: : 9781906614645
  • Size: : 216 x 140 mm
  • Pages: : 426 pp
  • Published: : Oct 2012

About The Author


Macdara Woods was born in Dublin 1942. One of the senior figures in contemporary Irish poetry, he published his first collection Decimal D. Sec. Drinks In A Bar In Marrakesh with New Writers’ Press in 1970) while his second, Early Morning Matins, was published by The Gallery Press in 1973. Since then he has published many collections, and a number of selections with the Dedalus Press, including Stopping The Lights In Ranelagh (1987), Miz Moon (1988), The Hanged Man Was Not Surrendering (1990), Notes From The Countries Of Blood-Red Flowers (1994), Selected Poems (1996), Knowledge In The Blood: New and Selected Poems (2000), The Nightingale Water (2001), Artichoke Wine (2006), The Cotard Dimension (2011), Collected Poems (2012) and Music From the Big Tent (2016). His books in Italian include: Biglietto di Sola Andata (Moby Dick Editrice Faenza 1998) and Con Pesaro ai Miei Piedi (Volumnia Editrice Perugia, 1999). He translated The King of The Dead and other Libyan Tales by Redwan Abushwesha, with the author and Orla Woods Abushwesha (Martin Brian and O’Keefe, London, 1978). He was a co-founder and co-editor of Cyphers, the long-running literary journal, since 1975. He also edited The Kilkenny Anthology (Kilkenny Co Council, 1991) and Present Tense: Words and Pictures, with Jim Vaughan (Mayo Co Council, 2006). His Clare Island Sequence was commissioned for and included in 'this time, this place' (Mayo Co Council, 2007). Macdara Woods was a member of Aosdána. He died in June 2018.

Sign Up to the Dedalus
Mailing List

For the latest news & special offers direct to your inbox
%d bloggers like this: